News Flash

City of Leesville News

Posted on: January 24, 2024

Mayor Allen administers Oath of Office

2024 MYC Oath

MYC Swearing In Jan2024

Pictured are (Front Row - L to R) Allie Wittenhagen, Aaliyah Smith, Charleigh Travis, Sachi Patel, Joshua Johnson, Mayor Allen, Jaelyn Hood, McKenzie Harris, Sasha Gatson, Izaiah Farley and Ja'Kira Acevedo (Hailee Jeane was unable to attend) (Back Row - L to R) Council members: Alice Guess, Chris Robertson, Willie Mae Kennedy, DeLain Prewitt, and Phillip Hunt

Mayor Allen administered the Oath of Office to ten new members of the Mayor's Youth Council during the regular meeting of the Leesville City Council on January 22, 2024. The association had been abandoned for several years during the recent COVID pandemic but has been reinstated again for the 2023-24 school year. Mayor Allen announced "This may be my proudest moment from all the years I've spent in this office. We must support our youth, because one day soon, it could easily be one of these young people who will be sitting in my chair." 

The Mayor’s Youth Council is an organization of students in the 9th-12th grades from Leesville High School. Throughout the school year, these students will participate in activities that offer insight into how local government operates and, in particular, learn about the various functions of the mayor's office. 

Each member swore an oath to support the laws of the United States, State of Louisiana and City of Leesville. In addition, they pledged to be patient and kind and to assist others wherever possible to promote unity within our community. Each was urged to serve as a role model for others by sharing what they learn. Former members are welcome to participate by becoming mentors for the current group. 

Trevor Peters, VPSB teacher advocate, and Staci Stipe of the Mayor's Women's Commission will sponsor the group for the 2023-24 school year.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City of Leesville News