Mayor's Women's Commission

The Mayor’s Women’s Commission is an organization of women from across the city who assist the mayor with beautification and other civic projects. 

The organization was established in 1992 by Mayor Jim Shapkoff, Jr. to work in conjunction with various City organizations in order to promote community involvement. Members are appointed by the mayor and represent a cross-section of the community. They meet on the second Monday of each month at Leesville City Hall.


One of the primary goals of the organization is to assist the mayor in any project that will showcase the City of Leesville. To fulfill that mission, the ladies do a marvelous job serving as hostesses at every major function hosted by the city. They assume the responsibility of providing appropriate decorations for each event and greet and direct event visitors as needed. 

In this capacity, they also work to establish ties with the Fort Polk community by making a connection with the leaders and their spouses to ensure the military community realizes how much we appreciate their presence and welcome their active participation in our communities. 

Beautification Efforts:

  • Community Spirit Awards

    • Every month the Beautification Committee selects one residential and one commercial property to receive their Community Spirit Award for beautification. Winners are selected based on landscaping and maintenance, with special consideration given for appropriate holiday decorations.  If you'd like to nominate a property for this award, please click here or contact Mary Ann Fussell at 337-239-2444.  
  • Trash Bash 

    • In the spring, the ladies host a Trash Bash to encourage individuals and groups to get involved with cleaning up the various neighborhoods.

      During the week prior to the event, a public dumpster will be set up where residents can drop off their excess trash. Also, on each day of that week, the Public Works Department will pick up large or hard-to-dispose of trash, such as furniture, building materials, tires, paint, etc. The schedule for these pick-up days will be posted on the group's Facebook page, as well as the event page on this website. 

      After all the work has been done, participants are invited to a free picnic lunch featuring hot dogs and cookies.
  • Neighborhood Beautification

    • The organization uses monies from grants, fundraising, and donations to beautify various city properties and/or neighborhoods. If you would like to make a donation, please contact Mary Ann Fussell at 337-239-2444 to learn how. 
  • Contests

    • The ladies also hold several contests throughout the year to encourage participation of residents during specific holidays. 
      • During the Scarecrow contest in October, groups/clubs set up scarecrows along Third Street in downtown Leesville to compete for cash prizes. 
      • In December, a city-wide Holiday Decorations Contest is held, with participants competing for temporary possession of the Winner's Plaque. 


Mayor's Youth Council


  • The MWC awards a scholarship every year to a member of the Mayor's Youth Council. For more information, please contact Mary Ann Fussell at 337-239-2444. 

2024-26 Officers

President: Nichola Sanders
Vice-President: Ranelle Birmingham
Recording Secretary: Glenda Jarrell
Corresponding Secretary: Olivia McKee
Treasurer: Joy Cryer

Past President(s):
Anne Smith
Wilma Bennett


Celeste Arpke
Tammy Arthur
Diane Barney
Julie Fitzgerald
Linda Harris
Jessica Herring
Bonnie Hicks
Kim Hoecker
Tori Hood
Barbara Kenebrew
Tracy Kerlin
Martha Koury
Brandy Midkiff
Margie Morris
Salvinia Moses
Austen Pew
Wanda Pynes
Shirley Quinones
Angela Richards
Beverly Sanders
Jessica Stevens
Staci Stipe
Amber Tannery
June Thomas
Sharon Wilhelm
Sheri Wilhelm
JoAnne Willis